Show and Tell! Thursday, June 8 2017


It’s Thursday! And that means it’s time for Show and Tell!

This is our chance to show (and tell) all the cool stuff we’ve been working on! One of our projects is content-creation for Gather, an awesome coworking office space in Richmond, VA. We do the lion’s share of work when it comes to ideating, creating, and sharing content for their blog. This includes a monthly segment we call Coffee Break. It’s a lot of fun! We sit down with a different member of the coworking collective every single month and interview them, asking about their business and their experience working in a coworking space. It keeps our interview and transcription skills sharp and every interview is so different!

One of the favorite questions to ask is “What’s a crazy fact or story about you?” So we’d like to share with you some of the Crazy Story Highlights!

Crazy Stories
“I lived in Mexico for a year and worked at a coffee shop illegally– I learned to make all the best Mexican aguas. You can make agua out of any kind of fruit and water. Making water out of tamarind or strawberries or, my favorite was cucumber and lime and mint. I think aguas are a sleeping sort of opportunity for someone. I became an aguas fanatic while working at this coffee shop.”

“In 2009 I left my house, my car, my bank accounts, everything– and I didn’t have a phone for a year or a car for five years. I was completely off the grid. Also, I didn’t watch the Super Bowl, and I’m proud of it.”

“I won free Chick-fil-A for a whole year once. You know how sometimes, if you go to Chick-fil-A, they’ll just be giving away free sandwiches? It was on a day like that, in Virginia Beach when I lived there at the time, and I filled out a raffle card with a crayon, “Win free Chick-fil-A for a year!” A couple weeks later I got an email [informing me that I had won]. I got 52 coupons for the 52 weeks of the year! Half of them I gave away. “

“It’s pretty well known now, but the craziest fact about me is that I am doing a magazine. It’s been my midnight oil, kind of. I get off work and work another 4 or 5 hours on it. It’s pretty crazy, it’s called Skinny Dipper, I’m very excited about it. I’m the art director and graphic designer. If you happen to get your hands on one, when they do come out — all the illustrations, most of the layout, I pretty much had a hand in all that. “

“In high school, I had never run cross country before, or track. Within a year I won our conference championship and was a Washington Post All-Met. My first race in college –I was essentially recruited to run at Emory, but Emory is Division 3 so they don’t offer athletic scholarships, so they positioned it as an academic scholarship– I get out there, I’m ready, full of confidence and… the first race I run… I come in LAST place. [laughs] I had tears, I just got *smoked,* there must have been 300 runners in the race. Kind of makes you humble. By the time I got to my sophomore year, I was kind of middle of the pack, and unfortunately had an injury on the track that derailed my career. But it’s kind of the best of both worlds — you work at something really hard (you may not even realize you’re good at it), it takes someone else, like your father or a coach to say, “Hey, you could be pretty good at this.” You’re devoted to it, you’re crowned the champion of your conference, MVP, it was awesome… but, a few short months later… you’re put in your place. The ups and downs — that’s life for ya. “

Well, there you have it, folks! It’s good to have fun with your work and let us tell you… the tidbits of work you see here are the product of SO MUCH FUN!
If you’d like to see the full interviews check them out on the Coffee Break section of Gather’s blog.

Leave a Reply

